Posted

print

favorite this post Grad student seeking room in house (Eugene) hide this posting unhide

Hello!

I am starting to look around for a room in a house. Rather than continuing to scroll Craiglist ads, I wanted to see if anyone out there might be in a similar situation and would want to look for a house together for this fall or sooner.

Me: I am a full-time first-year grad student in my late twenties, studying nonprofit management. I am interested in food and farming and gardening. I like hiking, bouldering (very much a beginner), gardening, and sharing meals on occasion. I've been living alone a little ways outside Eugene for the past several years, and I would like to have a shorter commute while in grad school. I also miss the community of living with other people. I am clean but not a neat freak - I do my dishes after meals and keep a clean, livable home. I have a small group of close friends, no big parties, no unexpected folks running in and out.

I have a sweet female 8 year old Border Collie/Kelpie mix who loves all dogs and all people (especially people). She's 35 lbs. She is also great with cats and has no prey drive whatsoever towards small animals (she's lived with bunnies and dozens of chicks and ducklings in the house over the years - I used to raise poultry). Well trained and house-trained. She doesn't damage houses and has great rental references. I also have a very petite 3 year old indoor/outdoor cat who also comes with rental references. He has lived with other cats, dogs, and rabbits without issue. (He's a fantastic mouser, but can be an indoor cat if necessary... He'll just be super bummed out, but he's done it before). Both are fixed and fully up to date on shots. My animal family means a whole lot to me, so I take good care of them. Part of wanting to move to town is so that I can come home on lunch breaks and hang with them. Also, the pup can come with me to work most days, so she won't be left in a crate all day and she gets good exercise.

Female roommates preferred, but open to couples or anyone respectful and interested in sharing a nice home scene. I can live in the place I am at indefinitely, so I'm open to looking for a house for fall, or can move in right away if you have an established house open. I study and work a lot, so I am looking for a nice house to come home to with good folks who want an easy-going environment. I don't smoke anything, indoors or outdoors; I like good beer, but I'm not a partier. I eat meat, but happy to keep vegetarian or vegan in the house. I clean up after myself and value grown-up communication about household stuff.

You: Ideally someone who wants to create a peaceful home scene, ideally grad student or college student, clean, respectful, likes to share meals, maybe likes to garden or get outside on the weekends. Ultimately, I love where I'm living but I do miss sharing a house with someone, so compatibility is my driving factor. Especially while in grad school I'd like to be more proactive in establishing a nice community, so that's mostly what motivates my desire to move to town.

Neighborhoods: Open to anywhere in Eugene within biking distance to campus. Whiteaker, River Road, South Eugene, etc. I work in Friendly but I commute to campus everyday... And any neighborhood is closer than where I am currently at.

Finances: I can pay up to $500/month ideally including utilities. I'm a grad student paying for school and working nearly full-time, so less is even better... But I get the housing realities of living in Eugene. Top range would be $550/month. I can front security deposits, etc.

Ideally looking for a house that isn't an apartment, since I do like to garden a bit (as my ridiculous student schedule allows).

Email me if you're interested in getting to know each other and seeing if we're a good fit. I'm not in a hurry, but would like to move to town by fall to stop driving for my commute! Looking for a house is more fun with a roommate on board, so if you're just in the phase of figuring out your fall accommodations, let's team up!
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6870591358

posted:

best of [?]